Skip to content

Virginia: Guns welcome, Women Not So Much

March 8, 2012

So, as a woman who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia, let me say I am puzzled.

I can now go buy a handgun, its sole purpose being to kill human beings, then continue to buy as many handguns as I want in a single week or month. Without any psychological or physical screening. Because the 2nd Amendment says, “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

But, if my doctor and I decide to do a legal procedure, the state can ignore my 4th Amendment rights, “The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated…” and force a doctor to perform an unnecessary medical procedure on my body.

Basically, Virginia, with its tragic history of handgun violence, trusts people with guns more than it trusts women with their own bodies.

Just wanted to get that straight.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

